GSA Leadership Team

GSA is an independent association that provides all 36,000+ enrolled graduate students at the University of Melbourne with representation, events, training and support.

We’re the heart of graduate student life, and  beating at its centre is our Senior Operational Management team.

Sophie Valkan
 CEO
Sajal Goundar

Chief Financial and Operating Officer 

Sajal, as a qualified CPA, brings over 7 years of experience in financial and operational management in university settings. As the Chief Financial and Operating Officer, Sajal oversees the financial management, human resources, OHS, IT and other operational functions in collaboration with the Student Engagement and Policy and Advocacy Teams. Sajal intends to improve the processes, policies and procedures in operational areas to ensure GSA can offer effective and efficient programs to support graduates at UoM.

sajal.goundar@gsa.unimelb.edu.au 

Christina Murambi

Manager Policy & Advocacy

Christina has over 9 years of experience in policy, advocacy, and social work, and holds a master’s degree in Human Rights Law and Social Work.  Christina leads GSA’s policy and advocacy work and engages with relevant UoM departments to address graduate student concerns and needs. She also aims to further GSA’s reputation as an effective advocacy and representative organisation.

Christina.murambi@gsa.unimelb.edu.au

Portrait of Kerry in front of trees
Kerry Tucker
Manager – Student Engagement & Communications

Kerry comes to GSA with over 25 years’ experience in the Higher Education sector and Student Experience space.  Kerry was a lecturer and tutor in Media and Communications for 7 years with Swinburne University, including teaching some courses online and tutoring with Open Universities Australia (OUA).  She also spent 7 years with Ormond College Halls of Residence as College Duty Manager and then was appointed the Freemantle Fellowship mentoring Ormond’s Indigenous cohort of students.  Kerry also has experience with International Students working for Cambridge International College and with Monash University as an online exam invigilator.  Before joining GSA she worked during COVID assisting resident students during lockdown at dwell Student Village (formerly RMIT). In her role as Manager Student Engagement & Communications, Kerry intends to provide GSA Graduates with a holistic, universal and memorable experience in their academic journeys. Her main focus is the inclusivity, equality and support of marginalized and/or disadvantaged students.

kerry.tucker@gsa.unimelb.edu.au

 

Our Staff

Liana Moore
Lead Student Engagement Officer – Activities & Events
liana.moore@gsa.unimelb.edu.au

Paul Holgate
Student Engagement Officer – Graduate Groups
Paul.holgate@gsa.unimelb.edu.au

Kelvin Hoang
Finance & Administration Officer
kelvin.hoang@gsa.unimelb.edu.au

Ivana Eleftheriadis
Marketing and Communications Officer
ivana.eleftheriadis@gsa.unimelb.edu.au

Eliza Davis
Marketing & Communications Coordinator
eliza.davis@gsa.unimelb.edu.au

Eren Muller
Administration Officer
eren.muller@gsa.unimelb.edu.au

Razi Pilli
Senior Policy Coordinator
razi.pilli@gsa.unimelb.edu.au

Hiruni Walimunige
Policy & Advocacy Officer
hiruni.walimunige@gsa.unimelb.edu.au

Maddy Sawant
HR & OHS Officer
maddy.sawant@gsa.unimelb.edu.au