Annual General Meeting



18 May 2023 1-2 pm

Hybrid (at Gryphon Gallery Meeting room and via Zoom)

Acknowledgement: We acknowledge that we meet and work on the land of the Wurundjeri people of the Kulin Nation. We pay our respects to the Elders, past and present and recognize the strength, resilience and capacity of Aboriginal and Torres Strait people in this land.

Chair	Jesse Gardner-Russell (President)
Attendance	Staff: Sajal Goundar (Chief Executive Officer); Kelvin Hoang (Acting Manager Business Operations & Finance), Eren Muller (minute taker), Stephen Luntz (Returning Officer).
	Members in person: Yingchen Zhao, Junyi (Johnny) Zheng, Nidhi Sikka, Rosalie Ritter- Jones, Yujia Zhang, Bolor Jamiyandagva, Lakvin Fernando, Howard Berlie, Ethan Chou, Somalika Chhabra, Aileen Mae San Jose, Sannia City, Rishwanth Darun A S, Shiba Desor, Sakshi Chawla, Viviana BenA-tez Saiz, Reymond Pepito, Diego Rafael Bustamante, Kavisha Garg, Xuefei Wang, Dianne Caresosa, Talisa Noor Widya, Jesslyn Mulyanto, Ritwik Giri.
	Members on Zoom: Matthew Harper-Gomm, Areej Shahid, Zhengjie Fei, Xiangyu (Brian) Su, Mohammad Amin Abedini.
1 Formal Matters	

1. Formal Matters

Meeting opened at <u>1.14pm</u>

1a. Welcome & Acknowledgment

Chair acknowledged the Traditional Owners of the unceded lands, skies and waterways on which we each live, work and learn. Chair paid respect to Elders past, present and emerging, extended that respect to all First Nations people present, and welcomed all members in attendance.

1b. Attendance

Chair noted general members, Faculty councillors, Representative councillors and Board members attending both in person and joining via Zoom and confirmed that quorum was reached.

1c. Minutes

Motion: The minutes of the AGM held on 27 May 2022 be accepted with no amendments. Moved: Jesse Gardner-Russell, President

Seconded: Yingchen Zhao, General Secretary

73% yes; 0% no; 27% abstain – motion carries.

2. Finance Report

Motion: The Audited financial statements of GSA for the year 2022 be accepted with no amendments.

Moved: Junyi (Johnny) Zheng

Seconded: Jesse Gardner-Russell, President

80% yes; 0% no; 20% abstain – motion carries.

Motion: The GSA Board recommend the appointment of Accru Melbourne as the auditors for 2023.

Moved: Junyi (Johnny) Zheng

Seconded: Yingchen Zhao, General Secretary

67% yes; 0% no; 33% abstain – motion carries.

Annual General Meeting



18 May 2023 1-2 pm

Hybrid (at Gryphon Gallery Meeting room and via Zoom)

Acknowledgement: We acknowledge that we meet and work on the land of the Wurundjeri people of the Kulin Nation. We pay our respects to the Elders, past and present and recognize the strength, resilience and capacity of Aboriginal and Torres Strait people in this land.

3. Annual Report

Motion: The Annual report for the year 2022 be accepted and noted. Moved: Jesse Gardner-Russell, President Seconded: Nidhi Sikka

70% yes; 0% no; 30% abstain – motion carries.

4. Honorarium

Motion: The membership approve the Honorarium Payment Memo with no amendments for the term May 2023 to May 2024.

Moved: Jesse Gardner-Russell, President

Seconded: Yujia (Lucy) Zhang

70% yes; 0% no; 30% abstain – motion carries.

5. Concluding Remarks

5a. The Chair thanked all who attended today's Annual General Meeting and thanked the outgoing GSA Board, Representative Council Members and Faculty Council Members. The chair also thanked the outgoing interim CEO Jeremy Waite for his contributions.

The Chair reported on the challenges & success for the Graduate Student Association of 2022. He notes that none of the success would have been possible without the confidence and support of our graduate students, the board, our student leaders in the representative and faculty councils, and the hard work of the staff have ensured the expert delivery of our services.

The Chair noted that we welcome the future challenges of 2023 and beyond, and under steady leadership of the new CEO, Sajal Goundar and our student leaders, we are going to stand steadfast in the face of the cost-of-living crisis ahead and will be working exceptionally hard for graduate students, as we have in years past.

5b. Announcement of election results for GSA Board and Representative Council.

Returning Officer (Stephen Luntz) announced provisional Election Results:

Elected to GSA Board:

Yujia Zhang Bolor Jamiyandagva Rosalie Ritter-Jones Amin Abedini

Elected to GSA Representative Council:

Activities Officer – Jordan Di Natale Education Coursework Officer – Will McHenry Environmental and Sustainability Officer – Sakshi Chawla Families Officer – Areej Shahid Health and Welfare Officer – Radhia Abdirahman International Officer – Ethan Chou Women's Officer – Ester Liana Queer Officer – Jieling Deng

Annual General Meeting



18 May 2023 1-2 pm

Hybrid (at Gryphon Gallery Meeting room and via Zoom)

Acknowledgement: We acknowledge that we meet and work on the land of the Wurundjeri people of the Kulin Nation. We pay our respects to the Elders, past and present and recognize the strength, resilience and capacity of Aboriginal and Torres Strait people in this land.

The Returning Officer noted that the elected Education Research Officer has withdrawn, therefore nominations will reopen for this position.

The Returning Officer noted that the elected Queer Officer will complete their course soon, therefore the Queer Officer role will be vacant and advertised.

Vacant Positions - GSA Representative Council

The Returning Officer noted the following Representative Council positions are vacant, to be advertised:

Education (Research) Officer First Nations Officer Disability and Equity Officer

Elected to GSA Faculty Council:

Arnav Goyal and Sagan Anand – elected as Architecture, Building & Planning Faculty Council Representatives.

Jeya Harini Umashankar and Gleen Pandelaki – elected as Business & Economics Faculty Representatives.

Benjamin Cronshaw and Richard Lee – elected as Education Faculty Council Representatives. Farid Fazel Mojtahedi and Hanh Nguyen – elected as Engineering & IT Faculty Representatives. Ioannis Sidiropoulos – elected as Fine Arts & Music Faculty Council Representative.

Aileen San Jose and Azzaya Enkhjargal – elected as Law Faculty Council Representatives. Riyaben Patel – elected as Medicine, Dentistry & Health Sciences Faculty Representative. Nonica Gurrala and Bayley Logan – elected as Science Faculty Representatives.

Vacant Positions - GSA Faculty Council

The Returning Officer noted the following Faculty Council positions are vacant, to be advertised: Fine Arts & Music Faculty has (1) position vacant.

Medicine, Dentistry, & Health Sciences Faculty has (1) position vacant.

Arts Faculty has (2) positions vacant.

5c. Conclusion of Annual General Meeting

Chair thanked all members in attendance and closed meeting at 1.45pm.